In group Somalia





Mogadishu is the capital city of Banadir region, it consists of 17 districts: Wadajir, Dharkenley, Daynile, Wardigley, H/Wadaag, Waberi, H/Jijab, H/Weyne, Bondere, Karaan, Yaqshid, Huriwaa, Kahda, Hodan, Shibis, Abdiaziz, Shangani.

Most IDPs live in settlements on private and public land. Therefore, many face a constant threat of eviction from either private landowners or the government. According to the ICRC Mogadishu IDP survey April-May 2012, an estimated one-third of all IDPs in Mogadishu, have lived in long-term protracted displacement relying on humanitarian assistance. The other two-thirds of Mogadishu’s IDP population represent approximately 14 % per cent of the estimated population of Mogadishu.

Estimates of IDPs in Mogadishu range between 500,000 and 700,000, with an average household size between 6 and 7.4 members.

In early 2013, the Somali Government initiated a relocation plan. The humanitarian community worked closely with the authorities to ensure that the relocation was successfully conducted in a dignified way using a rights-based approach. Due to problems related to achieving security benchmarks and the tenuous security situation in Daynile, the relocation never took place, instead forced evictions increased again. Most of the evicted people settled in spontaneous IDP settlements between Km7 and Km13 along the Mogadishu - Afgooye corridor.

The Shelter Cluster has organised a state-level coordination working group for Banadir Administrative Zone. This WG is led by UNHCR. The working group was established on 1st June 2021

Banadir region maps can be found in the Online Maps Mogadishu and Maps Banadir pages. 

{{ title }}

{{ title }}

Coordination Team
Siyad Mohamed Abdi
State-level Coordinator